Moser-Proell Receives 2014 Legend Of Honor Award

2014-03-23 16:18

VAIL, Colorado (March 23) – The most successful female alpine ski racer in history was honored Saturday evening, March 22, when Austria’s Annemarie Moser-Proell was inducted into the International Ski Racing Hall of Fame as the 2014 Legend of Honor. The Legend of Honor festivities are annually hosted in conjunction with Vail’s Korbel American Ski Classic.

Moser-Proell dominated her competition during the 1970s, with six Overall World Cup titles, including five consecutive season-long crowns from 1971-75. During the course of her 12-year career, she would rewrite alpine ski racing history.

“We are incredibly excited to have this opportunity to honor Annemarie,” explained Ceil Folz, president of the Vail Valley Foundation and head of the 2015 World Championships Organizing Committee. “This is a wonderful celebration of one of the true legends of our sport.”

During the course of her World Cup career, Moser-Pröll amassed a record 62 individual victories, more than any other female athlete. In addition, she accounted for six World Championship medals, three of them gold, along with a trio of Olympic medals.

A total of 45 of the greatest ski racers in history were on hand to celebrate Moser-Proell at the Legends of Skiing Banquet, including Luxembourg’s Marc Girardelli, who served as translator for the proceedings. Other racing greats included Franz Klammer, Phil and Steve Mahre, Ken Read, Fritz Strobl, Michaela Gerg and Marina Kiehl.

Annemarie Moser-Proell will join previous Legend of Honor recipients including:

1984    Emile Allais                                         
1985    Birger Ruud                                        
1986    Dick Durrance & Gretchen Fraser     
1987    Toni Seelos                                        
1988    Stein Eriksen                                      
1989    Freidl Pfeifer                                       
1990    Karl Molitor                                         
1991    The Werner Family                             
1992    Andrea Mead Lawrence                                
1993    Christl Cranz                                      
1994    Christian Pravda                                 
1995    Tom Corcoran                                    
1996    Barney McLean                                  
1997    Anderl Molterer
1998    Nancy Greene-Raine             
1999    Pepi Gramshammer    
2000    Marielle & Christine Goitschel   
2001    Toni Sailer
2002    Billy Kidd & Jimmie Heuga     
2003    Gustavo Thoeni
2004    Bob Beattie
2005    Bernhard Russi                            
2006    Rosi Mittermaier-Neureuther
2007    President Gerald Ford & Family
2008    Franz Klammer
2009    Cindy Nelson
2010    The Crazy Canucks
2011    Phil & Steve Mahre
2012    Marc Girardelli                                    
2013    Tamara McKinney

The 2014 Korbel American Ski Classic is a project of the Vail Valley Foundation.  For additional information on the Ski Classic or the Foundation, visit



Preview the new U.S. Ski & Snowboard website.