Freestyle Sport Committee

Organization & Purpose

The U.S.Ski & Snowboard Freestyle Sport Committee pursuant to U.S.Ski & Snowboard Bylaw Article VI (c), will work with the staff of U.S.Ski & Snowboard to develop plans, strategies, and policies for submission to the CEO for the development and operations of freestyle and to assist U.S.Ski & Snowboard in the operation of the freestyle programs consistent with FIS regulations, U.S.Ski & Snowboard bylaws and the Ted Stevens Olympic and Amateur Sports Act. 

Additionally, the committee will work:

  • To contribute sport expertise leading toward the realization of the vision and mission of U.S.Ski & Snowboard in the freestyle disciplines.
  • To provide support in the identification and training of young freestyle athletes with the potential to become elite international competitors.
  • To nominate a representative to the U.S.Ski & Snowboard Board of Directors.
  • Enhance public awareness and favorable perception of U.S.Ski & Snowboard and competitive freestyle programs in all forms and at all levels.
  • To support and assist the U.S.Ski & Snowboard staff in development and coordination of programs for competitor development keeping in mind the participation elements and athletic excellence components of the sport and aspects of a national athlete development plan.



The U.S.Ski & Snowboard Freestyle Sport Committee (FSC) is comprised of and will strive to represent the interests of the freestyle community within the United States.  Current U.S.Ski & Snowboard freestyle members are eligible for election or appointment to the FSC and its subcommittees and/or technical working groups.

The Freestyle Sport Committee is comprised of the following members each with one vote, selected without regard to race, color, religion, sex or national origin.  The vote for representation to the FSC will occur at the annual USSA meetings.

  • Chair of the Freestyle Sport Committee who votes only in the case of a tie
  • Moguls subcommittee chair
  • Aerials subcommittee chair
  • Rules & Officials subcommittee chair
  • FIS Representative
  • U.S.Ski & Snowboard board representative
  • Divisional representatives* (2)
  • Freestyle program director
  • At-large members - up to two at-large members (one two-year term, one three-year term)
  • Athlete representatives – two sport-specific athlete representatives, one of which is the U.S.Ski & Snowboard Board Athlete representative, who has a four-year term
  • Past-Chairman as voting member

Each of the above positions is to be held for a period of two years unless otherwise indicated.

*The eight divisions appoint two representatives for voting positions on the FSC, annually.


Freestyle Sports Committee

Chairman and U.S.Ski & Snowboard Board Representative, Chris “Seedog” Seemann

Past Chair, Andy Wise

Mogul Subcommittee Chair, Mike Papke

Aerial Subcommittee Chair, Jana Johnson

R & O Subcommittee Chair, Thomas Schaefer

FIS Representative, Todd Schirman

Divisional Representative – Intermountain, Jon O'Brien

Divisional Representative – Far West, Martin Sundquist

Freestyle Program Director, Todd Schirman

At – Large, Konrad Rotermund

At – Large, Jeff Lange

Athlete Representative, Bryan Zemba

U.S.Ski & Snowboard BOD Athlete Representative, Heather McPhie Watanabe


Executive Committee

Chair: Chris “Seedog” Seemann

Freestyle Director: Todd Schirman

Athlete BOD Rep: Heather McPhie

At Large: Konrad Rotermund

Past Chair: Andy Wise


Judicial Committee

Chair:  Jeff Lange

Athlete Rep: Heather McPhie

At large: TBD


Governance last revised 7/18/17


Freestyle Sport Committee Operating Procedures