U.S. Olympic Committee Announces 2013 Coaches of the Year

2014-07-02 10:58

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO (July 2) – U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association (USSA) coach Erik Flora (Anchorage) was recognized as the U.S. Olympic Committee’s 2013 National Coach of the Year. He is the fourth USSA coach to earn the top coaching honor since the USOC debuted the award in 1996. Flora was honored for his work with elite cross country skiers on the U.S. Cross Country Ski Team, including Kikkan Randall (Anchorage), who won the 2013 FIS World Cup and team sprint gold at World Championships. As head coach for APU Nordic, Flora is integrated into the U.S. Ski Team coaching staff where club coaches play an important role in athlete success.


  • The U.S. Olympic Committee named Erik Flora (Anchorage) as 2013 National Coach of the Year.
  • He is the fourth U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association coach to earn the top honor since the award began in 1996 – more than any other sport.
  • Flora serves as head coach for the highly regarded Alaska Pacific University Nordic program, a two-time winner of the USSA’s Cross Country Club of the Year.
  • As head coach of the Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Club, Flora directed four cross country athletes from the 13-member U.S. Ski Team who competed at the 2013 World Championships, including 2013 team sprint world champion Kikkan Randall (Anchorage).
  • The win marked the first World Championship cross country gold medal for the U.S. Ski Team and the first medal of any color in a team event.
  • Under Flora’s guidance, the U.S. women’s cross country team also earned its first relay podium finish in World Cup history and the first top-three individual ranking in the overall World Cup standings.
  • In addition to Randall, Flora aided other top U.S. skiers to breakthrough results in 2013, including Holly Brooks (Anchorage), Sadie Bjorsen (Winthrop, WA), Erik Bjornsen (Winthrop, WA) and overall SuperTour champion Rosie Brennan (Park City, UT). Randall and Brooks teamed up to help the U.S. women’s cross country team earn its first relay podium finish in world cup history and Randall earned the first ever top-three individual ranking in the overall world cup standings for the U.S.
  • Past USSA winners include snowboarding coaches Pete del’Giudice, Bud Keene and Ricky Bower.
  • In other USOC awards, Adam Bleakney (Paralympic track & field; Champaign, IL) took home Paralympic National Coach of the Year honors. Additionally, Kathleen Johnston (triathlon; Nashville, TN) was named Developmental Coach of the Year, Bienvenido “Benny” Roman (boxing; Brooklyn, NY) was selected Volunteer Coach of the Year and Gordon Uehling III (tennis; Alpine, NJ) earned the Doc Councilman Science Award.
  • National Governing Bodies selected their 2013 Coaches of the Year as part of the USOC Coach of the Year Recognition Program. A panel of coaching and sport education professionals selected three national finalists in each category.




Alan Ashley, USOC Chief of Sport Performance
It’s an honor to recognize these coaches for their impact on countless athletes around the country. Their tireless efforts and dedication to helping athletes strive for excellence is an inspiration to all.

Chris Grover, Head Cross Country Coach, U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association.
Erik has worked hard to build what is arguably the strongest club in the nation focused on the development of elite cross-country ski racers. HIs enthusiasm for ski racing is evident when you meet him and the athletes in the APU program find it contagious. Erik has a fantastic way of motivating the athletes and getting them out the door training on yet another rainy, windy, cold Anchorage, Alaska morning. He gives the athletes confidence to know that the work they need to do on a daily basis is achievable, and thereby builds a foundation for future hard work and racing success.

Luke Bodensteiner, Executive Vice President, Athletics, U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association
As a USSA club coach, Erik has played a significant role in the success of our U.S. Cross Country Ski Team. Clubs like APU Nordic are vital in our athletic pipeline. The integration of club coaches into our elite national teams in cross country has been key to our growing success in cross country. Coaches like Erik Flora make a difference for athletes and as an organization we are proud to have had four of our coaches earn this honor from the USOC over time.

All-Time USOC National Coach of the Year Award Recipients
The National Coach of the Year is presented to a coach of an elite-level club, collegiate or national-level team, or the coach of an elite athlete who competes at the highest level of his/her sport.

1996          Tara VanDerveer, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Coach

1997          Frank Carroll, Olympic Figure Skating Coach, Coach of Michelle Kwan

1998          Ben Smith, U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Coach

1999          Chris Carmichael, Cycling Coach, Coach of Lance Armstrong

2000          Richard Quick, U.S. Olympic Women’s Swimming Coach

2001-02    Pete del’Giudice, U.S. Snowboarding Coach

2003          Lloyd Woodhouse, USA Shooting National Team Coach

2004          Mike Candrea, USA Softball Women’s National Team Coach

2005          Eddie Reese, USA Swimming Men’s National Team Coach

2006          Bud Keene, U.S. Snowboarding Coach

2007          Guy Baker, USA Water Polo National Team Coach

2008          Hugh McCutcheon, USA Men’s Volleyball National Team Coach

2009          Bob Bradley, U.S. Men’s National Soccer Team Coach

2010          Brian Shimer, U.S. Men’s Bobsled Head Coach

2011          Rick Bower, U.S. Snowboarding Halfpipe Coach

2012          Adam Krikorian, U.S. Women’s National Water Polo Team Coach

2013          Erik Flora, U.S. Olympic Cross Country Skiing Coach



Preview the new U.S. Ski & Snowboard website.