Athletes Nominated for Utah State of Sport Awards

2015-04-01 08:59

PARK CITY, UT (April 1, 2015) – The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association will once again be well represented at the 2015 Governor’s State of Sport Awards. Devin Logan (West Dover, VT), Maddie Bowman (South Lake Tahoe, CA), Kaitlyn Farrington (Bellavue, ID), Joss Christensen (Park City, UT), Sage Kotsenburg (Park City, UT) and Ted Ligety (Park City, UT) will all be recognized at this year’s awards.

Hosted by the Utah Sports Commission, the awards celebrate Utah’s sport community and honors excellence in high school, amateur, collegiate, Olympic and professional sports. The USSA partners with the Utah Sports Commission each year on the Utah Action Sports Tour, which includes the Sprint Grand Prix event at Park City Mountain Resort and the Visa Freestyle International at Deer Valley Resort.

The six USSA athletes nominated this year all brought home medals from the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. Ligety, who won combined gold in 2006, became the second American in history to win two alpine gold medals. Kotsenburg and Christensen won the inaugural gold medals for men’s slopestyle snowboarding and skiing, with Devin Logan taking silver for women’s slopestyle skiing. Bowman took home the first-ever gold medal in women’s halfpipe skiing. Farrington rose to the top over veteran Kelly Clark to claim halfpipe snowboarding gold.

Maddie Bowman, who lives in Salt Lake City and attends Westminster College, celebrates her gold medal at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia (U.S. Freeskiing)

All of these athletes played a part in the historic Olympic season, which included 17 total medals, eight of them gold and five of them earned by Utah athletes. The Governor’s State of Sport Awards will also recognize key sports people and partner swho have been instrumental in helping to build Utah’s sports industry. This year’s event will feature special guest Jay Leno, Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Stein Eriksen and Partner of the Year Award recipient Deer Valley Resort.

The nine category awards will be based on the 2014 calendar year achievements and include High School Female, High School Male, Collegiate Female, Collegiate Male, Pro/Olympian Female, Pro/Olympian Male, Team, Coach and Event/Highlight of the Year. A committee comprised of sports media and the sports community at large selected the nominees.

The winners, chosen by sports fans, will be honored at the Governor’s State of Sport Awards event on Tuesday, April 21 at EnergySolutions Arena. Fans may vote once per day per web enabled device. Voting will conclude at midnight on Sunday, April 19th. Fans can visit to cast their vote.